I've been listening to a lot of Kings of Leon lately.  I mean... A LOT.  Mostly old stuff... Like songs from the Youth and Young Manhood and Aha Shake Heartbreak albums.  I've been playing KOL at work, in the car, at home...  The other night, whilst we were shopping at the Home Depot, I managed to completely miss a conversation that the man was trying to have with me... all because "Use Somebody" was playing on the store radio.  It's becoming an issue....

Last night I had a dream that I was the lead singer of an all female Kings of Leon tribute band called "Molly's Chambers".  There I was... up on stage... singing "Four Kicks"... Looking completely BAD ASS... Rocking it. 

I literally woke up thinking that this dream was a sign.  Like this tribute band was my true calling.  Like "Build it, and they will come"... I was inspired.  I was excited.  I was ready to put on some tight jeans and an old band shirt, not shower for a couple days and replace the water in my coffee pot with whiskey...

There is just one problem.  I can't sing.  I mean... I can, but no one wants to listen to it.  One could compare my singing to the sounds of a rabid raccoon in heat.  It's not pretty.  It's a little disturbing.  Oh, and I don't play an instrument either.  No guitar.  No drums.  Not even a tambourine.  Hell, I never even mastered the recorder they gave us in elementary school. 

After a little more thought about the situation and being a little more awake, I realized that these little "obstacles" put too much of a damper on my whole "lead singer playing the guitar with tons of groupies in a famous tribute band" dream.  I had to let go... I guess it was not my calling after all.  And I was really looking forward to having a reason to get tattoo sleeves...  



Leave a Reply.