I haven't blogged in a while.  I just haven't had anything entertaining to yap about lately.  I think it's the time of year... It's been too cold and gloomy out to do anything fun, so it has been week after week of "Get up.  Go to work.  Come home.  Clean.  Go to bed.  Do it again the next day."  There has been very little variation in my life lately and it blows...

This is seriously my most unfavorite time of the year.  I am not a winter person.  I don't like the cold.  And once Christmas is over and done, it's really downhill for me.  There are a few things in January that keep me busy, but after that I'm just a big ball of grump. 

I don't usually diagnose myself with any sort of mental or physical condition, but I'm pretty positive I suffer from Seasonal Affective Disorder.  Like, no shit.  It happens every year, same time, and the only cure is enough sunshine and warm enough temps for me to get out of the house. 

I need to be able to walk the dogs, or go for a hike, or go out in the woods... without freezing my lady balls off.  I want to ride a bike, or a four wheeler, or just ride in a damn car with the windows cracked.  I'm like a dog that's been stuck in a pen for two long.  I'm about to start digging my way out!  Ugh!!

I did, however, find one activity that I enjoyed this winter.  Of course I had to bundle myself up like the kid from A Christmas Story in order to stand being outside and enjoy it.  I like to call it "Redneck Sledding".  We strap a toboggan sled to the back of the four wheeler and my BF takes us around the neighborhood.  It sounds harmless, but he doesn't hold back.  Up and down curbs, in the ditch, dodging trees, cars and other people.  It rocks.  Unfortunately, it only snowed twice this winter, but both times we took advantage of it.
I'm pretty sure this was the only time you saw me smiling outside this winter...  And, yes, that is a lawn chair behind me in the sled.  I'm old and fragile and bruise easily (we found out the hard way).



Leave a Reply.